Norwegian writer Jon Fosse has won the 2023 Nobel Prize in Literature.

October 5, 2023, 7:13am

Today, the Swedish Academy awarded the 2023 Nobel Prize in Literature to Norwegian writer and perennial contender Jon Fosse, “for his innovative plays and prose, which give voice to the unsayable.”

The incredibly prolific and often heralded Jon Fosse, born in 1959 on the west coast of Norway, Fosse has written prose, poetry, essays, short stories, children’s books, and over 40 plays since his 1983 fiction debut, Raudt, svart [Red, Black].

Another year in which the oddsmakers did well—next year, Can Xue!

Want some writing advice from the newly minted Nobel laureate? “I think the best advice I’ve learned from life is to listen to yourself, not to others,” he told Lit Hub last year. “Stick to what you have, not to what you want to have or wish you had. Stay close to yourself, to your inner voice and vision and how you want the writing to be.” Read on here.

Or read Fosse’s most famous student Karl Ove Knausgaard on his writing.

Or go straight to the source with an excerpt from a 2022 edition Jon Fosse’s Septology, which collected the three volumes—The Other Name, I is Another, and A New Name—for the first time.

Ill. Niklas Elmehed © Nobel Prize Outreach

Source link

About The Author

Scroll to Top